Veganized Pioneer Woman’s Quick and Easy Roasted Red Pepper Pasta

Yesterday we had the most gloriously carb heavy dinner. I love carbs and I’m not afraid of them. I love pasta and I’m not ashamed. Sometimes I eat just cooked pasta with salt and I know I belong it Italy.

IMG_3138

This is the best bread I have ever had. I can never go back to anything else. The bakery is just a few blocks from our apartment and I love to walk there and pretend I just left my Italian apartment with my pet bunny, walking down cobblestone streets to pick up my daily bread.

IMG_3142

IMG_3141

Okay, now to the recipe. Here is the link to the original recipe and below is my substitutions:

Ingredients:

  • 12 ounces, weight Pasta Of Your Choice (I used Penne.)
  • 4 Tablespoons Earth Balance Butter
  • ½ whole Large Onion, Finely Diced
  • 3 cloves Garlic, Minced
  • 1 jar (15.5 Ounces) Roasted Red Peppers, Drained And Roughly Chopped
  • 1 cup Vegetable  Broth
  • ½ teaspoons Salt, More To Taste
  • Freshly Ground Black Pepper
  • ½ cup cashew cream (1/2 cup cashews, soaked then drained. Blend in blender, with water just barely covering, until smooth. I think next time I might use a little less cashews to not make it as heavy)
  • ½ cup Vegan Parmesan Cheese (leave a tiny bit to sprinkle before serving if you like)
  • Finely Minced Parsley (optional)
  • Chopped Fresh Basil (optional)

Preparation

Cook pasta in salted water according to package directions.

Melt 2 tablespoons Earth Balance in a large skillet (definitely get out the cast iron skillet…mmm!) over medium-high heat. Add the onions and garlic and saute for 2 to 3 minutes or until starting to soften. Add the chopped red peppers and cook for 2 to 3 minutes, until hot.

Remove the skillet from the heat. Carefully transfer the contents of the skillet to a food processor or blender. Place on the lid and puree the pepper mixture until totally blended (there will still be some texture to the peppers.)

Heat the other 2 tablespoon butter back to the skillet over medium heat. Pour the pepper puree back into the skillet. Add the broth, salt, and pepper, and stir until heated. Splash in the cream and stir to combine. Taste and adjust seasonings if you need to.

Drain the pasta and add it to the skillet. Add Parmesan and parsley/basil, then stir it together to coat the pasta.

Serve with a bit of extra Parmesan and a sprinkling of parsley on top.

IMG_3137

Prepare to enjoy pasta heaven.

IMG_3143

2 thoughts on “Veganized Pioneer Woman’s Quick and Easy Roasted Red Pepper Pasta

Comments are closed.