going to the beach

IMG_3068

Recently, when the sun is actually shining on an afternoon where I don’t have anything going on right after work, I’ve found myself sitting in my reading corner (properly placed couch and foot rest and side table right next to a window) and actually reading, sometimes knitting. I can feel my spirits rising like a solar-powered battery. It’s become such a tiny luxury that I am constantly checking the weather forecast for sunshine and pushing all other activities aside for 30 minutes (maybe longer if it’s been a bad few days). It does me absolute wonders. One day, I noticed that the sun was shining more on the floor (rather than my reading nook) and created a pallet in the floor. It was a weekend and I promptly ran to get Andy and told him “We’re going to the beach!” And there, on our pallet in the sunshine, we silently fell asleep pretending we were at the beach. It was the most relaxing experience I think I’ve ever had. Probably more relaxing than driving in the car for twelve hours, plopping down on the beach followed by sand getting all over you and loud people ruining your nap (at least, for those like me that would rather stay home than travel anywhere and would do anything to avoid a crowd of people, you know, all those fun-suckers in your life). So now, our favorite form of having a date (because we’re fun-suckers with no money, you know) is saying, “Hey, do you want to go to the beach this Friday? Hey, do you want to lay at the beach this weekend?” And there, we will read or sleep or talk and it really is perfect. I can’t wait until we have kids to enjoy this with, too if we ever live somewhere with unbearable winters with them. (Is that a dream? Like, do people have kids that are quiet and weird and like to lay in the sun imagining things with their parents or is it just a weird mid-twenties thing?) Does anyone else do something similar or have ideas for free fun during winter? xo

There is a privacy about it which no other season gives you…. In spring, summer and fall people sort of have an open season on each other; only in the winter, in the country, can you have longer, quiet stretches when you can savor belonging to yourself.
~Ruth Stout

One thought on “going to the beach

Comments are closed.