word for the year {2014}

IMG_1615

Last spring I was in a mini journaling class and the speaker convinced me I need to have a word for the year instead of New Year goals. The idea is to be intentional and focus on one main thing you won’t forget instead of a to do list all year long. Once it was December I realized I needed to start thinking about what I wanted my “word for the year” to be and it didn’t take to long to know my word needed to be remember. I tend to be forgetful and absent-minded and this year I want to focus on remembering.

I want to write something every day.

I want to take photographs to remember the people I love.

I want to remember, not memorize. (I thank Dr. Ware for teaching me I should not memorize, but meditate, for then I will know and remember.)

I want to remember what I read.

I want to remember moments and conversations.

Now, the list maker in me can’t just leave my entire year to one word. I will also do my (kind of) usual monthly goals. January looks like this:

*start a daily journal

*30 day self portrait

*start working on homemade gifts (I want to start having all my gifts [at least for Christmas] be homemade or support a charity. I figure I better start on this now instead of November.)

*walk every day (I’m the worst at moving around when it’s cold and dreary.)

Updates to come throughout the month of what this looks like, of course. Happy New Year, friends!

Nothing taken for granted; everything received with gratitude; everything passed on with grace.

G. K. Chesterton

