our own little Christmas

This is what our Christmas looked like:

*eating Chinese food {and I had to BEG for this one! One of my guilty pleasures that Andy finds repulsive is Chinese restaurants next to grocery stores. The minute I saw the “open on Christmas” sign + my life long dream of having Chinese food on Christmas + Andy tricking me to not eat there for months I knew I could break him.}

*doing a marathon : quilt and pillow fort on the couch with seasons of our favorite shows

*reading and listening to books

*making fudge and sugar cookies on Christmas Eve, Christmas Eve church service, and had the Arkansas gang over for warm food and sweets!

Traditions we do/traditions we plan to start next year:

We always get each other a pair of socks. We both love a good pair of socks, but we do it to remember the simple and little things in life, which to some people are very, very big.

Eat Chinese food!

Send Christmas cards. This was our first year to send Christmas cards and it was so much fun. I love sending and receiving happy mail. I finally decided that just because there is Facebook in the world and just because we don’t have kids and a dog doesn’t mean we can’t send Christmas cards!

Next year we plan on changing our gift to each other a little bit. It always felt weird to receive Christmas gifts from Andy and makes it easy to become discontent and selfish. I think part of this is I’m in charge of the budget, so it’s weird seeing my gifts in the spreadsheet. Next year we plan to give each other a gift to last all year long–planning dates and fun things to do together. We didn’t this year (because I found the perfect gift for Andy) but I’m so excited to start this next year. A new plan of action for gifts for others will be featured in a January post. Hope you had a Merry Christmas!

DPP_0020

DPP_0024 DPP_0025 DPP_0030 DPP_0032 IMG_0028 IMG_0193 IMG_0029IMG_0601 tree2IMG_0939 IMG_0986

IMG_1442andy IMG_1534andy IMG_1579_1andy IMG_1570_1andy IMG_1254andy IMG_1495andy IMG_1513andy IMG_1530andy IMG_1537andy IMG_1559andy IMG_1563andy

