Christmas in Kentucky

We have hardly done anything Christmas-y this month except decorate the tree and hang up paper snowflakes. The first week of December was finals and we have been in survival and recovery since then. Now that things are back to normal I’ve been wanting to slow down and celebrate the advent season. We are having “Christmas in Kentucky” this year and I’m so excited! This will be our fourth married Christmas together and every year before we have tried to start traditions, but each year I cannot  remember what we did the year before. The only tradition we have been consistent with is giving each other a new pair of socks for Christmas. If we come up with anything else this year I am writing it down for next year!  (I am planning on making these sugar cookies once I’m off for the holiday with a Christmas movie playing in the background. We also plan to start daily advent readings with Desiring God’s advent readings.) Does anyone have any good Christmas traditions for couples without children?

p.s. Last night we did make “Christmas” cookies together to give to friends that asked for some of my cookies (ask and you shall receive). But me making four batches of cookies (because we wanted some too!) and Andy doing the dishes doesn’t seem Christmas-y. These are one of our favorites though, here’s the link.

Notes: I recently purchased a coffee grinder and I love making flax eggs now! Be sure to start your flax egg around 30 minutes-1 hour before you start making the cookies and also don’t forget the dough needs to set up in the fridge for 2 hours. I use regular brown sugar and cinnamon for the recipe and it is still fantastic! Oh, and the best part about vegan cookies? You can eat as much raw batter as you want and you never have to make midnight runs to the grocery store for eggs! ;)

 

